St Matthew's CofE Primary & Nursery Academy Logo

St Matthew's CofE Primary & Nursery Academy

Interactive bar

Google Services


Governors 2019 -2020


As Chair of Governors I welcome you to our governance page.


Our Governing Body supports St Matthew's C of E Primary and Nursery Academy a
We are part of St Christopher’s Multi Academy Trust, and our delegated authority and responsibilities are clearly defined by the MAT board of directors.
Governors are all volunteers with different skills and experience, but have a commitment to education and the schools, children, staff, parents and carers.
All governors are part of the local governing body known as the LGB which meets every term and also hold various portfolios as part of either the resources or teaching and learning committees which also meet every term.
School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in the schools and its key functions are to:
  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)


It is a privilege to be part of this professional team across both schools, and our LGB works with a ‘hands on’ approach, and any discussion with parents and carers is most welcome.


Chair of Governors


Governors 2019-2020



Category of  Governor                 

Term of Office                               

Business Interests

Pecuniary        Interests                       

Other Governorships

Chris Connors

Headteacher -

St. Matthew's

Post Related No



Rev Chris Routledge

Foundation - Appointed  by Diocese

01/09/15 - 31/08/19


Chair of St Edward's PCC and associated Trusts.  A member of Endeavor Learning Community. A member of Christchurch Council at Estover.

Governor at St Edward's CofE Primary Academy







Lee Tucker Parent Governor        
Jacklyn Barry Parent Governor      


Keith Murphy Foundation Governor 01/12/19 - 30/11/24 no  


Sally Eales

Foundation -

Appointed by Diocese

10/12/18 - 10/12/22




Mark Tribe Foundation Governor 01/12/19 - 30/11/24 No  





Governors have specific areas of responsibility:


Chair of Governors – Rev Chris Routledge

Co-Vice Chair – Sally Eales

Safeguarding - Lee Tucker

Disadvantaged Children - Sally Eales


If you wish to contact the Governing Body then please email

St Matthew's Clerk


Governor Attendance of Meetings - 2019-2020

Name of governor 19/09/19 21/11/19 06/02/20 30/04/20 25/06/20 %

Jacklyn Barry

x       50
Chris Connors       100
Sally Eales       100
Keith Murphy N/A       100
Chris Routledge       100
Sean Sweeney       100
Mark Tribe N/A       100
Lee Tucker       100
Judith Annells (BM)       100
Siw Wysome (Clerk) N/A       100




Previous Governors


We are a newly formed Local Governing Body, previously we were allied to St Georges C of E Academy with a joint LGB.  Should you wish any details of the previous LGB, please contact the clerk to the LGB on

Governors having Impact.

School Motto

‘Love, Forgiveness, Courage, Hope, Trust, Spirit’

Mission Statement

‘let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.’ Matthew 5:16

Get in touch

Contact Us